League Secretary

Peter Dunkley, Llanelli B.C.


Premier Division

Ray Griffiths, Llanelli B.C.

Martin Watts, Brynhyfryd B.C.

Richard Johns, Burry Port B.C.

Division One

Alun Davies, Calsonic Wanderers B.C.

Gwylon Jones, Dafen Welfare B.C.

Martin Symes, Gowerton B.C.

Division Two

Idris Jones, Llangennech & Bryn B.C.

Terry Craven, New Lodge B.C.

Brian Bennett, Tybie B.C.


NEW - 2022 Saturday League matches to commence at 2.00pm unless otherwise agreed. See League Rules below

Records show that the Llanelli & District Bowling League has been in existence since 1928

Controlled by its member Clubs, all of whom are currently affiliated to Carmarthen County Bowling Association, the League is now administered by a League Secretary and a Management Committee comprised of nine representatives, made up by three from each of the League Divisions

In additional to the normal weekly matches the League organises a number of competitions.

All Clubs are entered into the D. J. Jones (2 Rink) Knockout Cup with the final round played at Parc y Dre Green, which was the home club of the man after whom the cup is named, who served as League Secretary between 1957 and 1971

Three Singles Tournaments run throughout the Season:

The Harold Williams Trophy, named after a member of the former Parc Howard Club, is open to League Members under the age of 35 years.

The David Richards Memorial Cup was presented to the League by the family of the former International, President of the Welsh Bowling Association and member of Brynhyfryd Bowls Club. This is contested by entrants over the age of 50 years.

The Champions All Trophy, donated by local butcher, David Thomas, is a qualifying event for the previous season's individual Club Champions and League Singles winners.

A week in mid July is set aside for the League Festival Week. During the week Singles, Pairs, Triples and Fours competitions are held on various greens in the Llanelli area. Member clubs are allowed to make one entry into each of the disciplines.

The League has honoured a number of players who have been involved in high level bowls such as International, World Bowls and Commonwealth Games, with Life Membership.

The Award of Merit is made on rare occasions to those who, not necessarily through playing, have given exceptional service to the League.


Hafod Thomas, Loughor B.C.

Danny Price, Ammanford B.C. *

Bryan Kingdon, Brynhyfryd B.C. *

Wyn Matthews, Graig Merthyr B.C.

Neil Rees, Parc y Dre B.C.

David Kingdon, Kidwelly Town B.C.

Gilbert Miles, Pontarddulais B.C.

Byron John, Pontarddulais B.C.

John Wilson, Pontarddulais B.C.

* Shows Club represented when award made


Dudley Thomas, Wheatsheaf B.C. (deceased)

Eddie Oliver, Brynhyfryd B.C.

Mike Rees, Brynhyfryd B.C.

Player Loan Scheme - 'Opt In' Clubs 2021

Premier Division

Ammanford Park, Brynhyfryd, Graig Merthyr

Division One

Loughor, Tybie

Division Two

Ammanford Town, Llangennech & Bryn, Pontarddulais

A list of Club Secretaries has been supplied to each Club. Should an 'Opted In' team seek to borrow a player from a similar Club in a different Division - they should contact that Club Secretary.

Please follow the rules as listed in the document below.

You may Opt In at any time during the season

To view or print a copy select 'Pop Out'